Harry Potter movies in order

The Harry Potter movie order starts in 1997 with the release Philosopher’s Stone.  Since then it’s become one of the world’s most popular movie series.  Inspired originally by the book series, the Harry Potter movie series has captivated audiences of all ages for over a decade To understand the story in full, it’s important to watch or read Harry Potter in the correct order. Grossing almost 8 billion dollars, Harry Potter has went on to become one of the world’s most popular movie sagas. Over those 10 years, this film has been turned into games, action figures, and more.

Download free movies

Movies Series
Book Series
Philosopher's Stone (2001)1998
Chamber of Secrets (2002)1998
Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)1999
Goblet of Fire (2005)2000
Order of the Phoenix (2007)2003
Half-Blood Prince (2009)2005
Deathly Hallows – Part 1 (2010)2007
Deathly Hallows – Part 2 (2011)

This epic series concluded a decade long story which ended in 2011 with the two part movie Deathly Hallows.  The only way to enjoy this massively popular journey is to start at the beginning.   Watching in the proper order allows for a more complete experience rather than picking and choosing which ones to watch.

You should definitely watch the Harry Potter movies in order.  In order to fully understand what’s going on in the story line, watching every one of the movies is necessary.  Typically you can pick and choose which movie in trilogy you watch and still have a positive experience.  With Harry Potter, each story builds on top of the other to form a bigger picture.  While it may be possible to skip a couple and still understand what’s going on, watching them all is definitely preferred.

Another reason to watch them in the proper order is to watch how the characters grow and evolve.  Each movie you learn something new about a character and apply it how you wish.  For every Harry Potter story released, the characters grow up another year.  Each release is a new school year at Hogwarts School of Magic.  Sometimes a character goes from good to evil in a single movie, so it’s extremely important to not miss one.

However, it is still possible to watch the movies out of order.  If you have a general idea of what Harry Potter is like, you can somewhat understand what’s going on without watching all of them.  Each movie has its own story and plot line.  While they do build on each other, they do not continue in a part one, part two fashion.  Each story and journey is unique to that particular movie.

Harry Potter the movie has eight different releases and the book series has seven.  The movie decided to take a different route and make the final tale, Deathly Hallows, a two part series.  Like the movie, each release of a new book tells the tale of one year at Hogwarts.  This allows you to see the characters mature from children over a decade.